Cooking for vegans
Question: My daughter lives out of home and has been vegetarian for some time, but has recently told us she is now eating a vegan diet. What's the difference and how does this change the way I cook for her when she comes over?
Answer: A vegetarian diet is a plant-based diet that contains no meat, fish or poultry or ingredients made from the flesh of these animals (for example, chicken stock or gelatine).
Some vegetarians may include dairy products or eggs in their diets and a diet that includes both is known as a lacto-ovo vegetarian diet.
A vegan diet is a vegetarian diet that contains absolutely no animal derived ingredients.
Unlike some vegetarian diets, a vegan diet does not include dairy products or eggs. A strict vegan diet also contains no honey.
When it comes to the differences in cooking between a lacto-ovo vegetarian diet and a vegan diet, I would recommend talking to your daughter about this.
As she eats this way regularly, she'll be able to give you some great recipes she enjoys that the whole family can try.
Most good recipe websites will also let you search specifically for vegetarian and vegan recipes, so jump on your favourite website and have a browse.
Some vegetarian meals you were regularly making before may also be easily converted to vegan recipes. Non-dairy milks such as soy, rice or almond milk can be used as an easy substitution for dairy milk in recipes.
There are also a range of products such as vegetable-based egg substitutes and soy creams and cheeses which can also be useful.
Having said this, it is important to check the ingredients these products to ensure they contain no animal derived ingredients, rather than just no dairy or egg ingredients.
This information is provided by the Sanitarium Nutrition Service.
Your say: Do you have any vegan recipes you enjoy?
Video: Natalie Portman quits her strict vegan diet